New here. Hello

This is for general posts and questions concerning only the Kawasaki Vulcan Voyager 1700 V-Twin.

Moderators: the2knights, Highway Rider

Novato Kevin
Current bike(s): 2006 Honda Goldwing ABS
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

New here. Hello

Post by Novato Kevin »

Hi,

Novato Kevin here. I just joined your forum to learn more about the 1700 bikes and to contribute something useful if I can.

I like to ride wherever and whenever I can. I commute in a work van, so I don't necessarily ride daily. All day, or overnight, or multi day touring are what I love. I just went on my longest ride I've ever done. I rode from home in the north of the SF Bay Area to Seattle. It was eight days of being on the bike all day every day. I zig zagged my way north and south to find the back roads- 2900 miles. It was non stop fun!

I've been riding for 45 years, since I was 16. There have been a couple years here and there when I was bike-less. Those were dark times. Now I'm on my 17th different bike, a 2006 Goldwing ABS in Arctic White. All the bikes I've owned have been Hondas and Yamahas. It's hard to pick, but my favorite one was a '99 Honda Shadow ACE 1100 Tourer. Long name- great bike.

I can't really put my finger on why I'm thinking of replacing the 'Wing. It does most everything really well and it's fast and comfortable. But I have some gripes too. It is really top heavy. It's got a million plastic pieces that are 14 years old and brittle. The transmission sounds like a car crash with every first to second gear shift. Finally it's hard to work on. I do all my own maintenance and repair. Almost any repair requires removal of a lot of the aforementioned brittle plastic pieces. Maddening sometimes.

So I'm thinking of a Voyager or Vaquero 1700. Comfort, power, ABS, cruise control and knockout looks.

So here I am. Cheers.
cranky
King of the Road
King of the Road
Current bike(s): 2003 Voyager
Has liked: 303 times
Been liked: 78 times

Re: New here. Hello

Post by cranky »