1991 XII replaced cable speedometer still not working (FIXED)

This is for general posts and questions concerning only the Voyager XII (1200cc, Four-cylinder) Years 1986 thru 2003.

Moderators: the2knights, Highway Rider

New2Voyagers
Streetster
Streetster
Current bike(s): 1991 Voyager XII 47k miles
Has liked: 2 times
Been liked: 0

1991 XII replaced cable speedometer still not working (FIXED)

Post by New2Voyagers »

Before I try to buy and throw a speedo gear on the front wheel is there anywhere else I should check on this bike? I'm new to the voyager series and was wondering maybe there's a fuse or relay for the speedo? The rest of the cluster works just not the speedo. What direction would yall go in from here?
Nails
King of the Road
King of the Road
Current bike(s): '97 XII
'00 XT350
'85 KLR 250
'82 Silverwing Sushiguzzi
Has liked: 204 times
Been liked: 544 times

Re: 1991 XII replaced cable speedometer still not working

Post by Nails »

Sounds like what you need t do is figure out what's wrong. But while you have it apart, you might want to have on hand a gear to throw in there. It's cheap.
--
Nails
SgtSlag
King of the Road
King of the Road
Current bike(s): 1993 Voyager XII (2010)
(2006-2012: 1979 Honda CB750K)
(2008-2010: 1983 Kawasaki 440LTD, belt drive)
Has liked: 23 times
Been liked: 218 times

Post by SgtSlag »

That gear is known to lose a tooth, which makes the Speedometer off, by something like 5 MPH. Nails is correct: figure out the source/cause of the problem before you throw parts at it.

If you do tear down the Speedometer housing, it would be a good time to replace the incandescent bulb (7,000 hour lifespan) with an appropriate LED replacement (20,000-50,000 hour lifespan).