Slipping Clutch

Got a tech tip for Voyager 1300's from your personal experiences, or one complete with pictures and instructions, here's where to post it. You can also ask about tips or procedures here.

Moderators: the2knights, Highway Rider

addonii
Cruiser
Cruiser
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

Slipping Clutch

Post by addonii »

Since this area has been somewhat dead I thought I would post re: the slipping clutch on my 1300.

I have been riding this 1300 since spring of 2010 and periodically I have experienced clutch slippage when I go wide open throttle in 2nd, 3rd and 4th gear (I’ll not comment on the speed).

I cured the slipping by replacing the OEM original clutch springs with NEW OEM clutch springs.

What I found interesting is the springs according to the ZN1300 shop manual are supposed to be 33.6mm Standard with a 32.6mm Service Limit.

The 5 OEM original springs I took out of the bike were all between 33.4mm & 33.5mm unfortunately I don’t have a device to check the actual spring pressure.

All the New OEM spring measured between 33.6mm and 33.65mm – so I find it amazing that the small discrepancy made the difference.

While I was in the clutch I checked all the steel and cork plate and they were within spec’s.

I was happy to see that none of the steel places showed any discoloration due to the slipping.

If any body out there wants to do the clutch work all you need to do is lay the bike over on it’s left side with a 4” X 4” piece of wood under the left crash bar and you have the bike leaned over far enough so you won’t loose any oil.

If you do the clutch make sure you have a new clutch cover gasket on hand as more than likeley part of the gasket will stick to either the engine case and another part will stick to the cover breaking the gasket when you remove the clutch cover. Having the gasket on hand is just good practise anyway.