15,000mile/2year service question

This is for general posts and questions concerning only the Kawasaki Vulcan Voyager 1700 V-Twin.

Moderators: the2knights, Highway Rider

TheAudiDoc
Traveler
Traveler
Current bike(s): 2015 Harley Ultra Limited
2009 VV1700 SOLD
Has liked: 0
Been liked: 0

15,000mile/2year service question

Post by TheAudiDoc »

I just took the 1700 in for the 15k/2year service and got a huge shock when my dealer told me 4 hours of labor just to lube the steering and trailing arm bearings :oh: i looked in the manual and it stated you have to basically have to take the entire bike apart to do these maintenance items....faring (inner and outer)complete removal.....bags trunk fender tire to get out the swing arm to service it......anyone found a shortcut???? install a grease zert somewhere???? I'm a mechanic and i don't think i really want to tackle this my self.....I don't know how many 1700s are out there with 15k on em.....please chime in....David....you are close.....GV550 Garry..how bout you??
Work hard.....Ride Harder!
Mike Pisarski , Tecumseh, MI
2015 Harley Ultra Limited
2009 Voyager Silver/Black Sold
2010 & 2011 Showdown 1st Place
It's A U D I
raw6464
Streetster
Streetster
Current bike(s): 2009 Voyager
2003 Goldwing

Re: 15,000mile/2year service question

Post by raw6464 »

Lubricating the stem & swingarm bearings cost almost as much as replacing them... wait till they fail (not likely any time soon) and you'll save a lot of money.
David (N. Alabama)
Elite Tourer
Elite Tourer
Current bike(s): 2007 Kawasaki Mean Streak
2010 Kawasaki Vulcan Voyager 1700
2011 Kawasaki Versys
2012 Kawasaki KLX250S
2010 Moto Guzzi V7 Café Classic
1975 Kawasaki KT250 Trials
2014 Triumph Trophy SE

Post by David (N. Alabama) »

If they were lubed correctly to begin with and the bike doesn't do a lot of sitting or riding in very dusty or constant rainy situations you should be good for a long time. Unfortunately, there is the "if" statement.