Intermittent Engine Turning Off at Low Speed

Got a tech tip for Voyager 12's from your personal experiences, or one complete with pictures and instructions, here's where to post it. You can also ask about tips or procedures here.

Moderators: the2knights, Highway Rider

Micoproviso
Cruiser
Cruiser
Current bike(s): 1995 Kawasaki Voyager XII
2005 Kawasaki Concours
1983 Honda CB1100F
Has liked: 7 times
Been liked: 20 times

Intermittent Engine Turning Off at Low Speed

Post by Micoproviso »

I'm a fair mechanic, but new to this bike (last October) and this one has me stumped. I saw some articles about similar issues on this forum, but not quite the same. I'll try to summarize the issue first, then give background details later if you're interested.

Occasionally, my headlight and dash lights turn off. When they're off, the bike still runs fine, except at low RPMs when starting from a stop, or coming to a stop. In those cases, the engine stalls. It starts right up after stalling, and the lights come back on after restarting, and runs fine... until the next time the lights go off and it goes back into "limp mode". When the problem is occurring, if I keep RPM's above 2,000 when starting out, the bike doesn't stall and runs fine at higher RPMs.

If I notice the lights are off while driving , pulling in the clutch and jabbing the starter button corrects the problem (temporarily). The lights come back on, and the bikes runs perfectly. It seems like this happens more often when it's humid outside, but not sure of the cause. Sometimes it doesn't happen for a day or two. Other times, it happens constantly.